The Classification method of stainless steel

- Jun 18, 2019-

High alloy steel that can resist corrosion in air or in a chemical corrosion medium. Stainless steel has a beautiful surface and good corrosion resistance and is not required to go through surface treatment such as plating, but to give full play to the inherent surface properties of stainless steel. Used in various aspects of iron and steel, usually called stainless steel. 

Represented by the properties of 13 chromium steel, 18-chromium-nickel steel, and other high alloy steel. 
From the metallurgical point of view, a very thin chromium film is formed on the surface of stainless steel because it contains chromium, which acts as a corrosion resistance from the oxygen invading into the steel. 
In order to preserve the inherent corrosion resistance of stainless steel, steel must contain more than 12% chromium. 

Types of stainless steel: 

Stainless steel can be broadly classified by use, chemical composition, and autobiographic structure. 
The steel of the Austenite system is comprised of 18% chromium and 8% nickel. The additional amount of each element is different, and the steel grades for various uses are developed. 

Classified by chemical composition: 

1. CR series: Ferritic series, martensite series; 
2. CR-NI series: Austenite series, abnormal series, precipitation hardening series. 

Classification by autobiographic organization: 

1. Austenite stainless steel; 
2. Ferritic stainless steel; 
3. Martensitic stainless steel; 
4. duplex stainless steel; 
5. Precipitation hardened stainless steel.